Home > Main Dish, Recipe, Sides > Arroz con Cebolla (French Onion Rice)

Arroz con Cebolla (French Onion Rice)

Arroz con Cebolla

I grew up in my grandmother’s kitchen. Since my family used to gather at her house for all holiday meals, I usually got to see/help with these dishes. One of my grandmother’s most famous dishes is her French Onion Rice. It’s basically French onion soup, beef consome, onions, garlic, mushrooms, and rice. Yeah, that’s it! Most recipes I’ve found do not include the mushrooms, but my grandmother always added them so my rendition of this dish will include them. The beauty of this dish is that it’s made from pantry staples that are easy to find, inexpensive to purchase, and keep for a relatively long time in your cupboard. MMMmmm…

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: About 35-40 minutes
Difficulty: Easy
Notes: I call for butter in my recipe, but I’ve also seen it done with bacon/bacon fat. Feel free to experiment.

Ingredients:

1 large onion, chopped into rings
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 10-12oz can each, French onion soup and beef consomme (I use Campbells)
1 8oz jar sliced mushrooms, drained
2 cups white rice
1 tbsp butter
Pinch of salt

Procedure:

Melt the butter in a heavy-bottomed pot (I use a Dutch oven) over medium heat. Add the onions and a pinch of salt and allow them to sweat until they’re softened and transluscent (about 7-8 minutes). Add the garlic and the mushrooms and cook another 2-3 minutes, then remove the onions, garlic, and mushrooms from the pot.

Increase the heat to high and add the cans of French onion soup and consomme. Once they come to a boil, add the rice, reduce to medium-low, and stir for 1 minute. Return the onion/garlic/mushroom mixture, stir, and cover. Let it cooked, undisturbed, for 25-30 minutes, or until the rice is cooked. Fluff with a fork and serve!

Buen Provecho!

Categories: Main Dish, Recipe, Sides Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment